News:

Come on, summer...

Main Menu

New member from Georgia

Started by ewommack, June 23, 2015, 08:12:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ewommack

Hello thought I would introduce myself to the group. My name is Eddie and I'm from south east Georgia. I'm pretty new to dual sport riding but I have been riding for 20 years now. Last year I brought my gs1150 to the hills and put almost a thousand miles on it in 6 days. Amazing part of the country you guys live in. Unfortunately most of the miles were slab because I just don't know the area and laws. Around here you can't ride the public land and most of the private land is always posted. My in laws live in Johnson Siding and we are coming up for a few weeks on Monday. I recently bought a klr 650 to leave up there so I don't have to haul the bike back and forth. If there is anyone local that wouldn't mind showing a new guy around I sure would appreciate the help. Sugar Shack is on me!!

Wild Irishman

Well as long as there is a free burger involved I'd be happy to show you around that area.  Most of the local riders are familiar with the trail systems to the west (Bogus Jim trail system), east (shanks/shroeder) and the south (victoria lake) of Johnson Siding.  But if you want to do some research on your own here is a motor vehicle use map for that particular area (mystic ranger district): http://www.fs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_DOCUMENTS/stelprd3824329.pdf.  Johnson Siding is in the top right corner of the map.  There's quite a few routes from that area up into Sugar Shack.  These maps are pretty awesome for planning routes and you can have a cached version on your smart phone so you can check your location at anytime without needing a cell signal.

That outta get you started on your journey.  Welcome to DDSR.
- Eire

ewommack