News:

Come on, summer...

Main Menu

New dual sporter (maybe?)

Started by Fletch, April 10, 2011, 11:48:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fletch

stumbled upon this site researching 990 Adventures. I've been riding for 30+ years and now think it is time for an adventure bike. I currently ride a CBR 954 on the street and a KTM300XC-w in the woods. The last few years I find myself wanting my dirtbike when I end up in the middle of knowwhere on my street bike?? I think the Adventure would be perfect for my needs! This just isn't working out anymore:
stupid is my middle name, but my first name is Mike

loingrader

a 990 (or 950) adventure would be pretty much what you get when you cross a big cbr with a katoom woods bike.  sounds like you are on the right track.  

tons of power.  awesome suspension, great on road and off.  you may lose a little of the honda reliability and service-ability but for most ktm riders it is a compromise made willingly.

and welcome.
You live more in five minutes on a bike like this going flat out than some people live in a lifetime - Burt Munro

Dr Psyko

I'm discovering that most of us come here from someplace else. (there seems to be a laguage problem in that last sentence.)
11th Commandment: Thou shalt not slide through life.

greatbuffalo

Fletch, I'm new here as well and came from the same basic place you, I've been riding a 82 Yamaha XJ 650 with some light mods and thinking its a dualsport, It aint!

Just took ownership of a 01 Triumph Tiger. The KTM was on my short list when I was looking

Good luck with your search for the right bike.
Did I ever tell you: " I HATE MUD!" ?

loingrader

i thought that bike looked familiar.  you made it onto this site 2 years before you joined.

http://dev.dakotadualsportriders.com/smf/index.php?topic=175.0

i love that water crossing picture.
You live more in five minutes on a bike like this going flat out than some people live in a lifetime - Burt Munro

Fletch