Come on, summer...

Main Menu

Cold weather gear

Started by loingrader, October 27, 2008, 01:55:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loingrader

first gear kilimanjaro jacket
first gear kilimanjaro pants
widder electric gloves (soon to be discontinued)
set-up (gran prix) waterproof motorcycle boots

got everything but the gloves at newenough.com.  gerbing makes nice heated gloves too, but they draw a lot more amps than the widder's do.

pants and jacket are waterproof and can be used during the summer on those wet rides.  just remove the liners.

with this setup i can ride comfortably all day long at 15-20 degrees.

coldest trip was 25 miles at -11.2 degrees F.

i've been using this stuff for 3 years, and there is 0 wear on them.  i got them a little big so i can just wear them to work over my work clothes. 

it extends my riding season by about 5 months, which is awesome.
You live more in five minutes on a bike like this going flat out than some people live in a lifetime - Burt Munro

fringefan

Sorry man but anything less than freezing does not get me excited to do much except making a fire.

loingrader

there are lots of guys that won't ride if the temp is below freezing.  can be dangerous if you're not careful.  last winter i popped over a hill on the interstate (doing 80mph) and was greeted with a 1000 ft sheet of ice.  i was riding the blackbird.  i didn't move a muscle or even breathe for the longest 8 seconds of my life.  as i was approaching the end of the ice i could feel the whole bike starting to occillate (front tire to the left/rear tire to the right, and then back, and forth, etc.) because there was absolutly no traction what so ever.  after i made it across the ice i drove on the shoulder (rougher rock) to the nearest exit and took back highways (rougher rock)the rest of the way in to work with no problems.

i was wearing proper gear but the bike wouldn't have fared too good at 80mph on it's side.