News:

Come on, summer...

Main Menu

4 routes in the Black Hills

Started by baptistratz, April 13, 2016, 03:48:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baptistratz

Guys,
I'm planning a four day ride in and around the Hills and I would appreciate your feedback on the route plans.  I'm new to dual sport.  I don't "know" the Hills, but I've spent a quite a bit of the off season looking at maps and GoogleEarth.  Given my limitations, I would appreciate your perspectives and opinions.  Portions of my routes have been influenced by other big projects like Dakal and CannonShot's ride.

I've mapped out four days of riding with each day being around 150 miles.  The routes are attached.
Day 1 is a loop from Spearfish to Devil's Tower and back with a stop at the Sundance Radar Station.
Day 2 goes down the western edge of the hills to Redbank camp with a stop at Flag Mountain.
Day 3 hooks the southern portions finishing at Blue Bell camp.  I have a separate route that adds on Ft Igloo.
Day 4 zig zags north through Needles Hwy, trails by Pactola, and finishes in Rapid.

To create these files I used geoplaner.com.  That cite was by far the easiest to use.  I found the satellite map to be essential.  My only complaint is that it uses waypoints instead of tracks.  Is there a way to convert waypoints to tracks?  Another software that I found helpful was TopoFusion.

I'm planning this trip with a friend from Montana for the last week of July.  Thanks for any feedback.

Bogus Jim

I converted the waypoints to tracks using WinGDB3, files are attached.

The routes look pretty nice. A few comments...

Day 2:
You are going down 6006. That could be sketchy with big bikes or new riders, otherwise OK.

Roby canyon (which you have in your route) instead of Boles Canyon is a good choice. More scenic. Lots of water holes if it's wet but they all have a hard bottom so no worries about trail damage or getting stuck.