News:

Come on, summer...

Main Menu

TTR Dual Sport Tires

Started by brockmub, May 02, 2016, 10:10:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brockmub

While I'm getting the rear rack designed and welded up, I've turned my attention to the other parts of the bike.  Since it's not a KLR, I won't be putting the ammo cans on or a milk crate.  Most likely the rack will be a flat surface for spare fuel and a dry bag.  We won't need to bring a ton of stuff with us.  The type of riding that we were initially planning may have been way too aggressive to warrant bringing the kitchen sink... speaking of aggressive, the back tire of this TTR is way too knobby.  It's a Dunlop D752 110/100-18 and I'm trying to get it off the rim so I can swap out the tube.  Being a complete noob, or boob, I'm unable to get the tire off the rim with the tiny spoons I picked up.

Should I have someone else swap out the tube and while I'm at it, look for a little more road oriented tire?  One that doesn't hum like a swarm of bees behind me or chunk off on the pavement... or one that doesn't say Motocross Only for that matter?

sleddog

My favorite tire on the WR is a D-606 rear & MT-21 front....both are knobbies.

I can show/teach you how to get the tire off to change the tube.....

Looks like you're you planning on changing the chain too? I've got tools for that too.

Bogus Jim

Kenda 270 is fairly popular around here for dual sport, and the price is right. If you're doing a lot of rocks a 606 rear might be better than the 270 though.

tannerc

I went with a Michelin T63 rear and a MT21 front for long range on the XR650R, the combo seems to work really welll. I tried to beat the crap out of the T63 on a couple hundred mile run of some of the DAKAL and it handled it well, still looks like new and the XR is known to punish tires.
"Retreat, hell! We're not retreating, we're just advancing in a different direction."

woodsrider 53 RCSD