News:

Come on, summer...

Main Menu

Yamaha XT600

Started by plumber mike, July 17, 2010, 12:49:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

plumber mike

I have the opportunity to trade a pickup I've been needing to get rid of for a 1988 Yammy XT600. Can anyone give me any info on these bikes. Value...ish, Known problems, etc... Was it #2 that has/had one. I'm going to go check it out soon and see what's up. Isn't this the same motor from the old tenere?

fringefan

I  think you are right that it is number 2. Not sure what the truck is worth but any bike in Good shape should fetch $800-$1500. Much more than that it would have to be newer. Just my .02 and Ive been told I am cheap which is not far off most of us on here ;D

Number Two

Yup, I had a 1984 TT600, which was the off-road version of the XT. 

Pros:
1) Very stable steering geometry, esp in sand.
2) Four-valve motor w/ counter balancer.
3) Gobs of torque at low rpm meant the bike could make up for some of my mistakes in rough terrain.
4) Air-cooled, simple.

Cons:
1) CV secondary carb was lame.
2) Magnesium cases were lame.
3) Bike was pushing 350lbs.
4) Aftermarket for the TT was nil.
5) Drum brakes (your XT should have a disk front, drum rear)

Things to look for:
Oil leaks from stripped fasteners.
Oil quality/color/smell.  An air cooled motor lives or dies on its oil. 
Wear items.  Tires, chain, sprockets, air filter, cables will all nickle and dime.
Adjusting the valves does a lot for making this motor easier to start.

For my intended use (riding not collecting), one in good shape is about $1000.  If you end up with it, I might have a supertrap for you.

plumber mike

I lost my post somehow, so here is the short version. The truck is worth $1000 on a good day.

The bike has a leak at the base gasket, but it's ridden daily in the summer. I'm going to check it out closer this week, and I'll bring a camera.
Aaron-Thanks for the real world info. :)
Fringefan-Thanks for calling me cheap >:( ;D

Stay tuned.